Bulk actions
Perform actions on multiple items
After creating a query in the Data Explorer app, you can perform a bulk action on the results of that query. This makes it possible to edit or delete multiple items at once. You can also trigger workflows and create activities in bulk.
Select items
By default, bulk actions are performed on all items in the active query tab. To target specific items instead, select them in the query results. The toolbar indicates how many items are currently selected. Select to clear your selection.
When you're ready, select Bulk action in the bottom toolbar.
Bulk actions
The following bulk actions are available:
-
Edit X items - update selected items with changes to their appearance, collection, attribute values and geometry (see below).
-
Touch - resave the selected items with no changes. This is useful for updating items after their design has been changed, e.g. to regenerate their titles and subtitles.
-
Trigger workflow - trigger a manual workflow on the selected items. Choose an available workflow and enter any parameter values as needed.
-
Delete - permanently delete the selected items.
ImportantDeletions can't be undone, so please think carefully before doing so!
For assets and activities
If the design/interface being queried is an asset type or activity type, extra bulk actions are available. Use them to create new activities for the selected items:
-
Create jobs - for each selected item, create a new job with that item as its parent.
-
Create inspections - for each selected item, create a new inspection with that item as its parent.
-
Create defects - for each selected item, create a new defect with that item as its parent.
Details
Follow the usual Create Item process:
-
1 Select a design - choose the design of the new activity items.
-
2 Item details - fill in the attribute fields as needed. Be aware that each new activity item will receive the same values.
-
3 Parents - this step is disabled, since each new activity item will be linked to a selected item automatically.
-
4 Item location - if left blank, each new activity item will inherit the geometry of its parent. To set the same geometry on all the new activity items, supply it here.
Select Create to perform the bulk action.
Edit items
To edit various aspects of the selected items, select Bulk action in the bottom toolbar and choose Edit X items.
1 Configure properties
Select a property to overwrite it with a new value on all selected items:
-
Icon - use the icon picker to set a new icon, or select Unset icon to revert the items to their design's icon.
-
Colour - use the colour picker to set a new colour, or select Unset colour to revert the items to their design's colour.
-
Collection - move the items to another collection, if allowed by their design.
-
Locked - lock or unlock the items. Locked items can't be edited. Only admin users can do this!
Select another step or select Bulk edit to finish.
2 Configure attributes
To overwrite a particular attribute value on all selected items, select Add attribute and choose it from the list. Provide a new value or select Unset to clear the current one. Repeat for each attribute you want to overwrite.
Select another step or select Bulk edit to finish.
3 Configure geometry
Select one of the following to overwrite the geometry of all selected items:
-
Unset - clear existing geometry.
-
Set location - use the Geometry Editor to set new geometry by drawing points, lines or polygons on the map. This is only possible if the designs of all selected items have the same allowed geometry types.
Select another step or select Bulk edit to finish.
Confirmation
Bulk actions can potentially make sweeping changes to lots of data, which may be difficult to revert. Therefore, before any bulk action is performed, a confirmation window will appear.
Type the displayed text and select Yes to confirm that you want to proceed. When the bulk action finishes, a notification will appear to indicate success or failure. Select the notification for error details.
Why approximately?
The confirmation window states the approximate number of items to be edited. Why?
Because the items in the query results may have changed since the query was last performed. During this time, other users may have edited, deleted or created items that you were intending to edit.
Select Refresh data in the bottom toolbar to update the active query tab.