Overview

Alloy allows you to delete items. Items that are based on a design that includes the Archive collection are initially archived and become part of the archive collection and you are required to perform an additional step to remove the items completely.

Note

When you delete an item it is removed from the system completely and cannot be recovered. Associated components are also removed.

Archiving and deleting an item

  1. Select an item to view the Item details panel.
  2. In the Item details panel, select the button. The item is archived, which means it has been removed from the map, but it has not been deleted from the system and can be unarchived and restored to the map.
Note

This action is not available for all item types, some items can only be deleted.

The item details indicate that it can be unarchived by selecting the button.

alt text

Note

You can access the Archive collection to retrieve the item. When you archive an item any associated components are also archived.

  1. To delete the item completely select the button.
  2. A confirmation dialog is displayed, select Yes in the confirmation dialog to complete the deletion.

Archiving and deleting a component

  1. Select an item to view the Item details panel.
  2. Select the graph open button at the top of the screen. If the item selected contains component items then they are displayed.
  3. Select a component item in the graph to view its details in the Item details panel on the right.
  4. In the Item details panel, select the button.

    The component item is archived, which means it has been removed from the parent item, but it has not been deleted from the system and can be unarchived and restored to the parent item.

    The component item details indicate that it can be unarchived by selecting the button.

alt text

Note

When you archive a component item any associated component items are also archived.

  1. To delete the component item select the button. A confirmation dialog is displayed.
  2. Select Yes in the confirmation dialog to complete the deletion.
Note

When you delete a component item it is removed from the system completely and cannot be recovered. Associated components are also removed.

Using Data explorer to archive items

To find items within the Live collection using Data explorer use the following procedure:

  1. Open the Data explorer from the right menu panel using the icon.

  2. Select the Add tab button at the top of the explorer window.

alt text

  1. A dialog is displayed that allows you to select the design or interface of the item or items you want to archive for the query to be based on.

  2. When you have selected an interface or design a list of related items is displayed in the first column, by default items in the Live collection are listed. The total number of items is indicated at the top of the column.

alt text

You can select an individual item to display it in the Items details page, this allows you to archive the individual item.

Archiving multiple items

You can use the Data explorer to archive multiple items using the Bulk actions tool as follows:

  1. Ensure you are viewing the list of items in Data explorer, see Creating a query.
  2. Select the icon for each item that you want to archive.
Note

You can only archive items based on a design that includes the Archive collection. If a design includes other collections you can also move one or more items between collections, for example into Inventory.

alt text

  1. Select the Bulk actions tool.
  2. Select the Edit option from the left hand panel.

alt text

  1. The bulk Edit page is displayed, there are three steps, which are all optional.
  2. Select step the Configure properties page is displayed similar to that shown below.

alt text

  1. Select the Collection field, a dialog is displayed that allows you to select the collection you want.

alt text

The list of collections that is displayed depends on the design that the items are based on.

  1. Select the collection that you want to archive to the Configure properties page.
  2. Select the Next button to return to the Edit page, the first step indicates that it has been completed.

alt text

  1. Select the Edit button to execute the bulk action. The selected items are moved to previously selected collection.