Overview

To allow a new user access to Alloy you need to create a user account. This allows you to assign the groups that the user belongs to and define which modules they have access to. There are two ways to create a user:

  • Setting custom permissions
  • Copying permission settings from another user.
Note

You must ensure that the user has a unique and valid email and a list of the groups that user belongs to.

Creating a user

When you need to create a new user use the following procedure:

  1. Go to the Permissions module.
  2. Select Create user. The Create user page is displayed.

alt text

  1. You need to enter the following details:

    • Username - the username should be all in lowercase, no spaces and can include numbers, for example, johnsmith, jsmith123.
    • Email - you must provide a valid, unique email address for the user to confirm and validate the account.
    • First name
    • Last name
  2. Select Next to continue. The Permissions page is displayed.

alt text

Setting custom permission settings

To assign a new user to a specific group use the custom permissions option:

  1. Complete steps 1-4 of Creating a user above.
  2. In the left panel, select Set custom. The left panel displays a Group selection field.

alt text

  1. When you select the Groups field a dialog is displayed that allows you to select one or more groups to add the user to. When you add a user to a group then the user inherits all the permission settings of the group.

  2. Select Create to finish creating the new user. The user’s details are displayed in the Item details panel on the right.

Copy permission settings from another user

When you create a new user who needs to have the same permissions as existing users you can use the copy from existing user option:

  1. Complete steps 1-4 of Creating a user above.
  2. In the left panel, select Copy from existing user. The left panel displays a User selection field.

alt text

  1. When you select the User field a dialog is displayed that allows you to select a user to to copy details from. The new user will be included in the same groups as the existing user.

  2. Select Create to finish creating the new user. The user’s details are displayed in the Item details panel on the right.

Completing a user

When you create a new user the user details indicate that the user is not initially verified.

alt text

At this stage you cannot edit the user details, you can only delete the user if you made a mistake.

Creating the user sends an email to the user that includes a link that the user is required to select to allow the user to create a password and validate the account.

alt text

Once the account has been validated then viewing the account details indicates this and allows you to edit the details.

alt text