Overview

You can edit a role by adding or removing groups and users within a role to manage the permissions that the role has within the system.

Editing group details

  1. Select a role to view its details.
  2. In the Item details panel, the General page is displayed by default.

alt text

  1. Select the button on the action bar. You can now edit the fields displayed in the General tab.
  2. When you have finished editing the details select Save to update the system.

Adding a group to a role

You can add groups to a role in order to define permissions that you want to associate with the role.

  1. Select a role to view its details.
  2. In the Item details panel, select the Groups page from the tab bar.

alt text

  1. Select the more actions button from the action bar.

alt text

  1. Select Add group. A dialog is displayed with a list of available groups.
  2. Select the group you want to add to the role.

Removing a group from a role

When you remove a group from a role all the permissions associated with the group are removed from the role.

  1. Select a group to view its details.
  2. In the Item details panel, select the Users page from the tab bar.
  3. Select the button on the action bar.

alt text

  1. This allows you to remove a group if required by selecting the icon for that group.

Adding a user to a role

You can add users to a role in order to inherit any permissions from groups associated with the role.

  1. Select a role to view its details.
  2. In the Item details panel, select the Users page from the tab bar.

alt text

  1. Select the more actions button from the action bar.

alt text

  1. Select Add user. A dialog is displayed with a list of available users.
  2. Select the user you want to add to the group.

Removing a user from a role

When you remove a user from a role all the permissions associated with the role are removed from the user, if the user also belongs to a group then the group permissions will remain unchanged.

  1. Select a group to view its details.
  2. In the Item details panel, select the Users page from the tab bar.
  3. Select the button on the action bar.

alt text

  1. This allows you to remove a user if required by selecting the icon for that user.